"This Mic On?"

There are a lot of joys in the process of writing and making music, but not much compares to laying it all down in the cozy warmth of a great recording studio.  Here is a discography of Geoff's work, with and without DTR.

Better Days / Single / April 2020

Dirt Track Racer's New Single is "Better Days," set for release on April 20, 2020.  From April through September of 2020, Dirt Track Racer will donate 100% of the Digital Download Revenue from "Better Days" to the Global Giving Corona Virus Relief Fund.  Global Giving is a top rated, international charity, putting over 90% of donations directly to work, in countries around the world.  So, please, join us in helping to make a difference, and download your own copy of “Better Days” from your favorite digital download source.  We are all in this together, and together, we will see this through.

Something's Gotta Give / December 2019

Dirt Track Racer's new album, "Something's Gotta Give," is set for release on December 2, 2019.  A thirteen song set, it features nine originals and four covers of folk and blues classics.  The track list is as follows:


1. Something's Gotta Give

2. I Won't Be Here When You Get Home

3. He's In The Jailhouse Now (Eddie & Nellie Stafford)

4. Things I Should Have Said

5. The Name She Gave

6. One To Tango

7. Ghost In Midnight Blue

8. What The Heart Wants

9. All In Green Went My Love Riding

10. Police Dog Blues (Blind Blake)

11. The Water Is Wide (Trad. Arr. Dirt Track Racer)

12. Alabama Bound (Huddie Ledbetter)

13. Better Days (Digital Only Bonus Track)

KIck Off Your Muddy Boots / January, 2014

Our debut album as an Americana / Roots Rock band, "Kick Off Your Muddy Boots" received wide spread radio play in the US and Europe.  It peaked in the US at #4 on the Roots Music Report charts and was named album of the month on RadioWarrington in the UK, and album of the week on RootsRevival in Belgium.  In March 2015, it was named Album of the Month by the Akademia Awards out of Hollywood.  The track list is as follows:


1. Kick Off Your Muddy Boots

2. Delilah

3. Already Gone

4. Twilight Train

5. Bucket Full of Rain

6. Dead Man's Shoes

7. Eliza Jane

8. Rain In My Coffee

9. Traces of Caroline

10. I Ain't Sayin'

11. Fool Enough To Fall In Love

12. From This Moment On

13. Home For Christmas

Home For Christmas / Single / December 2013

Released as an advance single for the "Kick Off Your Muddy Boots" album, "Home For Christmas" has a great bossa groove a la Stan Getz and was released digitally before being included as  a bonus track on "Kick Off Your Muddy Boots."  We have dedicated all proceeds from the sale of the digital single to the National Military Family Association, an A+ rated charitable organization supporting our military veterans and their families.

Swimming To The Sun / March, 2012

Released in March, 2012, "Swimming To The Sun" is a live set recorded at the historic Mermaid Inn, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  As I understand it, The Mermaid is the oldest continuously operating Tavern in the US (let the debate begin!).  Just Geoff and his trusty Gibson J100 on this outing.  The songs on the album are a mix of tunes from "Pilgrim's Progress," the then nascent "Kick Off Your Muddy Boots," and some selected covers.  In between chatter, they are:


1. I Ain't Sayin'

2. Traces of Caroline

3. Zoe's Cakewalk

4. Swimming To The Sun

5. Statesboro Blues (Willie McTell)

6. Already Gone

7. 8:05 (Miller-Stevenson)

8. Twilight Train

9. Good Old Days

10. Police Dog Blues (Blind Blake)

11. He's In The Jailhouse Now (Blind Blake)

12. Fool Enough To Fall In Love

13. Rain In My Coffee

Pilgrim's Progress / October, 2011

Released originally in 2009, "Pilgrim's Progress" was remixed and remastered in 2011 after new vocal sessions and set adrift on an unsuspecting world.  Knowing zip about the process of working a CD to radio, it did not go far in the States, but did get picked up and played across Europe and parts of the Middle East.  It was named Album of the Month on Llew Garner's Blues Show on RadioWarrington in the UK, and on the strength of that accolade, the die for me was cast.  The album consists entirely of original songs, many written in the flashy Piedmont Blues style of Blind Blake and Rev. Gary Davis.  This marks the first time Paul and Geoff worked together, and surprisingly, Paul did not lose his entire mind.  The track listing is:


1. Odyssey

2. Signs and Wonders

3. Zoe's Cakewalk

4. Pilgrim's Progress

5. Staring At The Stars

6. Swimming To The Sun

7. Cold Coffee

8. Good Old Days

9. Someone I Used To Know

10. Under A Winter Moon

11. Black Dog Boogie

12. End Of The Line

13. Light In The Forest (Bonus Demo)

  Contact Us Today!

Geoff Hansplant


Dirt Track Racer

Phone: (215) 852-1570





Like us on Facebook; our lives depend on it!

Twilight Tango Records

Study Music with DTR!

Would you like to study music with the members of DTR?  If you live in the Philadelphia, Pa. region, you can.  Geoff, Julie, Paul and Nick all teach, as well as perform.  The easiest way to do so is to visit the Cappella School of Music site, where Geoff, Julie and Paul are teachers.  Follow this link: www.cappellaschoolofmusic.com


Print | Sitemap
© 2015- 2020 - All sound files, photos, lyrics and other print material the property of Geoff Hansplant, Inc.